Review: Cheung Hing Kee Shanghai Pan-fried Buns [Hong Kong]

As a girl from Shanghai who grew up loving Sheng Jian Bao (生煎包 pan-fried pork bun), I was elated when my friend told me that there is a specialty Sheng Jian Bao shop in Hong Kong.  I’ve had this dish in Hong Kong at Shanghainese restaurants before, but those are usually not as good as the ones in Shanghai found in small hole-in-wall style shops on the street, where you can watch them make it in a large pan.  Often times, the really local buns may look less “perfect” visually, but taste THE MOST delicious with the pocket of pork broth that delivers into your mouth when you bite in.  Those are absolutely the best.

I was both curious and hopeful that this shop would help me have a similar experience as I would back in my hometown.  😋

(Just a quick background on the dish if you’ve never had it. Sheng Jian Bao are similar to a soup dumpling (xiao long bao), but thicker dough skin, and pan-fried until light brown in color on the bottom and topped with sesame seeds.  Like the soup dumpling, the magic is that it contains an abundance of soup broth within.)

I visited the shop near Exit A1 at Tsim Sha Tsui.  There wasn’t any place to sit down, just 1-2 spots for a quick bite to the side of the stall.

IMG_7738

They had unconventional flavors, such as shrimp & black truffle pork which I think caters nicely to local Hong Kong consumers.  I was only interested in the original flavor for my first visit.

IMG_7744Shop employees making a fresh batch.

IMG_7739Michelin Recommended in 2016

IMG_7743

IMG_7740

Their Sheng Jian Bao looked attractive and fresh.  The size was slightly bigger than the ones I’m accustomed to in Shanghai.  The bottom was nicely browned and crispy.  Biting in, the amount of broth was satisfying and tasty.  I wouldn’t say that the meat broth flavors were exactly like the ones I’ve had back home.  Since there is a nostalgia factor in that for me, if they were able to match the flavor exactly, I would have been even more impressed.   There was a slight hint of “seafood” essence in this broth that reminded me of Cantonese dumplings.  Nevertheless, it was still a positive experience and delicious!

Although these are always best to eat fresh if you can, it’s not a bad option to take them away.  I took a few home to go to let my husband try, and he reported that the quality and soup were both still there.

I would definitely want to come back again with my dumpling-loving husband, and try their other flavors (shrimp and black truffle), as well as their pork and vegetable wonton soup with my favorite shepherd’s purse veggies.  😍

~~ Overall Experience: 8/10~~

Address: Shop 6A, G/F, 48 Lock Road, Tsim Sha TsuiHong Kong (Multiple locations available including a new one in Wanchai!)

Hours: Daily 10:00am -10:00pm

Cost (per person): Less than 50 HKD / $6 per item

Website: N/A

Date Visited: 5/10/17

Leave a Reply

