Restaurant Review: Masazushi [Otaru]

After eating at Sankaku Market for lunch, and snacking all afternoon, we were very stuffed.  Dinner seemed impossible at that point, but we all agreed we couldn’t leave Otaru without eating a proper sushi dinner, even if it was just a small tiny serving.

Many of the sushi restaurants which caught our eye while walking down Sakaimichi Street, were not open for dinner.  Lucky for us, Masazushi was open for business and on the way back to the train station.  We had no reservations, but they were able to seat the four of us relatively quickly, as it was only 6:00pm.  The restaurant looked decently from the lobby, and had not filled up with customers yet.  They sat us in a smaller wing with a bar, around a sushi chef.

IMG_7074

There are various sets to choose from at moderate prices.  Normally, I would have felt the need to order a large 12-piece platter of nigiri, but my stomach was so full at that point, I opted for the small 7-piece meal.  The “all salmon” platter was also calling out to me, but I wanted to try the fresh local pieces as selected by the chef.

IMG_7073

Being seated at the sushi bar, it’s quite fun to watch the chef take little pieces of sushi rice, press it masterfully on the fish to create the perfect piece of nigiri.  As we watched, our anticipation grew…..

OMG, every piece was heaven in my mouth.  My only regret was that I was not hungrier to eat more.

IMG_7069My 7-piece kiwami sushi set (10/10): fatty tuna, big botan shrimp, sea urchin, salmon roe, 3 additional pieces of seasonal fish.

IMG_7071My husband’s Masazushi set, which includes Tofu Salad, Squid Noodles, 7 piece sushi, and Seaweed miso soup

IMG_7070I had a taste of the squid noodles, which is raw.  You dip it into the sauce on the side.  It was really good. (10/10)

IMG_7072My friend’s 12-piece takumi set, which includes everything in the smaller set and additional pieces of premium fish (scallop, broiled middle fatty tuna, crab) ….jealous!

This sushi joint is a great stop for a top quality sushi dinner at a cheaper price than what you would get in Hong Kong.  Everything tasted magical, and I felt like I was in heaven.  Next time I come, I will make sure that I’m really hungry.

~~Overall Experience: 10/10~~

Address: 1-1-1 Hanazono, Otaru 047-0024, Hokkaido, Japan

Hours: Daily 11:00am – 9:30pm; Closed 3:00pm-5:00pm on Weekdays; Closed Wednesdays

Cost (per person): 3,700 yen / $33

Website: http://www.masazushi.co.jp

Date Visited: 3/1/17

One thought on “Restaurant Review: Masazushi [Otaru]

  1. SauceBox says:

    Sounds awesome, I’ll have to try this place out! Awesome review. Good stuff! You’ve got my follow. Check out my comedy blog and give it a follow if you like it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

