Review: Non-Ramen Foods at IPPUDO [Hong Kong]

I always order the same thing at IPPUDO….the Special Akamaru Shinaji with medium hard noodles, and I’ve also been here about a billion times.

This time, I decided to try a few of their other dishes…ANYTHING BUT RAMEN FOR ME TODAY

I ordered the Chicken Wing with Cod Roe, Deep Fried Chicken Bun, Lasagna Gyoza, and  IPPUDO Teppan Fried Rice.

I must give a special shoutout to the Lasagna Gyoza.  Weird idea, but it totally works.  The cheesy tomato sauce with nice herbs is good enough to carry this dish by itself, but the gyoza dumpling skin texture perfectly mimics a lasagna with the tiny bit of savory meat inside.  I wasn’t 100% certain, but I detected a runny egg yolk in the middle of the sauce as well.  What an extremely clever and delicious fusion dish.

IMG_6358Chicken Wing with Cod Roe (7/10) & IPPUDO Teppan Fried Rice (8.5/10)…I like the sizzle

IMG_6356IMG_6355IMG_6354Lasagna Gyoza (10/10!)

IMG_6360IMG_6359Fried Chicken Bun (9/10).  Really nice fried chicken.  Reminded me of an Asian fusion version of my favorite Mcdonald’s spicy chicken burger, but with an actual quality piece of chicken 😀

IMG_6357My husband likes to stick to what he knows and ordered ramen for himself (Special Shiromaru Motoaji).  😛

Best dish was definitely the lasagna, with the fried chicken bun in second place.  Go give both a try!

~~Overall Visit Experience: 8.5/10~~

 

Address: 3/F, Century Square, 1-13 D’Aguilar St, Central, Hong Kong

Hours: 11:30am to 10:30pm

Cost (per person): HKD 100 / $13

Website: http://www.ippudo.com.hk/en/index.html

Date Visited: 4/1/17

 

Leave a Reply

