Restaurant Review: Lava Lounge Pizza [Niseko]

After an entire week at Niseko and scarfing down mostly Japanese food, we were craving some American comfort foods.  Lava Lounge Pizza is esteemed as one the best pizza joints in town.  I chose this place because it was 2 minute walk from our lodge and they are lauded for their spicy chicken wings (which is one of my many vices).  I was so excited to be able to try this place right before our Niseko trip was about to end!

We ordered way too much for just two people, which I do not regret.  Everything was begging to be tried .  Their sausage, bacon, pepperoni pizza was perfect to me.  I enjoy it when the sauce blends into the cheese so the two are not separated.  Cheese sliding off pizza is one of my food pet peeves.  All the flavors were balanced nicely.

OMG the wings…I think these were the best wings I’ve encountered since college.  The hot sauce coating has been slightly baked to create a gentle crisp exterior effect, and juicy on the inside.  It’s hard to find wings like these.  Often times, you either get the really wet saucy ones sticking to your fingers, or completely fried and dry.  As much as I love buffalo wings, I do not like ones that are too sour.  THESE WERE PERFECT AND HEAVENLY!

IMG_5449Our entire spread: Sausage, Bacon, Pepperoni Pizza, Spicy Chicken Wings, Cheesy Pesto Garlic Bread, Potato Wedges

IMG_5079Cheesy Pesto Garlic Bread (this is like a pizza if you replace the tomato sauce with pesto)

IMG_5080Spicy Chicken Wing.  I kept raving about these wings hours after eating them.

IMG_5081Sausage, Bacon, Pepperoni Pizza

I cannot emphasize enough how much I love this place.  They are closed for the summer season now, but go head on over there once next ski season comes again (Dec)!

Bonus plus: They deliver for free within Hirafu!

 

Address: 191-19 Aza-Yamada, Kutchan, Hokkaido Prefecture 044-0081, Japan

Hours: 5:00pm – 11:00pm; During Opening Season (Dec-Mar).

Cost (per person): 2,000 yen / $20

Website: http://llpizza.com

Date Visited: 3/2/17

Leave a Reply

