Restaurant Review: Green Farm Cafe [Niseko]

It was our last morning in Niseko, before seeing off our friends to their bus back to the airport, and we were looking for a quick bite for breakfast.

Since it was their final meal in Niseko, I wanted to find something with a bit of Asian flair, but my husband remembered Green Farm Cafe, where he dined at 6 years ago.  It was close to our lodge, and we were pressed for time so we went for it.

It’s a cosy little cafe that has wooden bench seating, a very organic feel, and with vegetarian/vegan and gluten-free options available.

Western places can be hit or miss in Asia, for me. I wasn’t too excited, UNTIL OUR FOOD ARRIVED.

First of all, presentation looked AMAZING across every dish.  The eggs were perfectly fried/poached with skill.  This was a properly designed and executed breakfast.

I took a bite of my Sausage Hash Roll, and all I could say was WOW.  The ingredients were fresh (likely locally sourced).  The sausage was not too salty or oily in any way.  The hash brown was cooked to perfection.  The little green garnishes gave it a nice touch.  Why did I ever doubt this place?

IMG_5442Sausage Hash Roll

IMG_5083Sausage Hash Roll (Deconstructed 🙂 )

IMG_5441Green Farm Breakfast (eggs, toast, sausage, salad, apples)

IMG_5443Eggs Benedict with a Cafe Latte

IMG_5446Hot Chocolate

I swiftly downed my meal with a nice warm glass of Hot Chocolate, which they topped off with a huge marshmallow.  I REALLY LOVE THIS PLACE!

Hmmmm….I wonder if lunch or dinner here is any good?

When we left the cafe, I was already contemplating when we would have an opportunity to eat here again.  Regardless, we were able to send our friends off with lots of hugs and a happy full belly.

Pros:

  • Gorgeous looking breakfast that tastes amazing
  • Vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free friendly
  • Good coffee
  • Free Wifi (supposedly)

Cons (very minor!):

  • None that is food related
  • Busy crowded scene, but okay once you find a seat
  • When servers get busy, clearing the table can take a while longer
  • Free Wifi didn’t work when we were there, but I had my roaming data card so who cares!

Address: 167-6 Yamada, Kutchan, Abuta District, Hokkaido Prefecture 044-0081, Japan

Hours: 7:30am – 10:00pm

Cost (per person): 1,500 yen / $13

Website: https://www.facebook.com/GreenFarmCafe/

Date Visited: 3/3/17

Leave a Reply

