Restaurant Review: Hanazono 308 [Niseko]

One of the “must try” meal in Niseko for me this year was the Crab Ramen at Hanazono 308.  Located in one of Niseko’s ski resorts, the restaurant is a cafeteria style food court which seats over 300.  However, don’t let the words “food court” turn you off.  Everything was made fresh and prepared right in front of you once you’ve ordered.

Apart from ramen, other offerings include various rice dishes (ie. curry pork chop rice), pizza, burgers etc.  It was a good balance of both Japanese and Western comfort foods, perfect for lunch break after skiing/boarding.

The quality of the food looked AMAZING, and I wanted to try it all.  But I came here for the crab ramen and decided to stick to my decision, despite seeing a mouthwatering Shrimp Tempura Ramen presented to the person in the line before me.  I made a mental note to eat tempura at some point later during my trip.

My husband and I ordered a Miso Pork Ramen and the signature Kani (Crab) Ramen to share.

IMG_5292

Miso Pork Ramen

IMG_5291

IMG_5293

Kani (Crab) Ramen

They gave a generous portion!  The crab takes a bit of work to eat, but they come pre-cut and they give you tools to use.

Overall, both ramen types tasted solid and super satisfying.  I am so happy I got to try this.  Maybe next time I will have improved my snowboarding skills enough to board my way here instead of taking that free shuttle.

Address: 328-1 Iwaobetsu, Kutchan, Abuta District, Hokkaido 044-0082, Japan

Hours: 10am – 3pm (Winters and Summers – see their website)

Cost (per person): 2,000 yen / $15

Website

Note: There is a free shuttle from various locations in Hirafu to Hanazono every 20-30 minutes.

Date Visited: 3/1/17

Leave a Reply

